Who are we

Created in September 1994, La Cave de Genève quickly associates its wines with the local culture, as expressed by its slogan “Terre de Cultures”. Through each of its ranges of wines, it is all the past and present history of Geneva which is revealed.

A CULTURAL APPROACH TO WINE

Viticulture is above all a culture but also a secular practice, an art in its own right that we wish to share with and for you. Playing a major role in the AOC Swiss wine market, the reputation of the house extends well beyond the borders of the Canton of Geneva.

SMALL COOPERATIVE ...

Fecund and eventful, the history of La Cave de Genève goes back to the end of the First World War. In 1929, several winemakers in the Arve et Lac region decided to create a cooperative, which takes the name of La Cave de La Souche and brings together some fifty members. The members of this cooperative are at the origin of the first Swiss Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée for wines.

... WILL BECOME GREAT

In 1948, the company Vin Union is created, and takes care of all oenology, packaging and marketing operations. After having often changed its name while retaining the generic term “La Cave”, the company encave in the 1970s almost 80% of the Geneva wine production. The main activity is the transformation of grapes into wine, and its marketing. The cooperative receives the grapes as soon as they are harvested for their vinification.

CULTIVATING THE VINE ... AND QUALITY

Established since 2007 in Satigny, La Cave de Genève SA offers you all year round in its store to discover and taste quality wines, from a generous terroir cultivated with talent by passionate winemakers.

0
Your Cart

Qui sommes nous

Créée en septembre 1994, La Cave de Genève associe rapidement ses vins à la culture locale, comme l’exprime son slogan « Terre de Cultures ». À travers chacune de ses gammes de vins, c’est toute l’histoire passée et présente de Genève qui se dévoile.

UNE APPROCHE CULTURELLE DU VIN

La viticulture est avant tout une culture, mais c’est aussi une pratique séculaire, un art à part entière, que nous souhaitons partager avec vous. Jouant un rôle majeur sur le marché des vins suisses, la réputation de la maison dépasse largement les frontières du canton de Genève.

PETITE COOPÉRATIVE…

Féconde et mouvementée, l’histoire de La Cave de Genève remonte à la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale. En 1929, plusieurs vignerons de la région Arve et Lac décident de créer une coopérative qui prend le nom de La Cave de La Souche et qui réunit une cinquantaine de sociétaires. Les membres de cette coopérative sont d’ailleurs à l’origine de la première Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée suisse pour les vins.

… DEVIENDRA GRANDE

En 1948, la société Vin Union est créée et prend en charge toutes les opérations d’œnologie, de conditionnement et de commercialisation. Après avoir changé de nom à plusieurs reprises tout en conservant l’expression générique de « La Cave », l’entreprise encave dans les années 1970 près de 80 % de la production viticole genevoise. L’activité principale est la transformation du raisin en vin et sa commercialisation. La coopérative reçoit les raisins dès leur récolte pour leur vinification.

CULTIVER LA VIGNE… ET LA QUALITÉ

Installée depuis 2007 à Satigny, La Cave de Genève SA vous propose de découvrir et de déguster toute l’année dans son magasin, des vins de qualité issus d’un terroir généreux cultivé avec talent par des viticulteurs passionnés.

0
Your Cart